[Date Prev][Date Next] [Chronological] [Thread] [Top]

(ITS#5904) Docs: admin guide describes log levels inconsistently

Full_Name: Jonathan Clarke
Version: irrelevant
OS: irrelevant
URL: ftp://ftp.openldap.org/incoming/jonathan-clarke-guide-20090124-2.patch
Submission from: (NULL) (

The different log/debug levels available are described in three places in the
admin guide: for olcLogLevel attribute in cn=config, for loglevel in slapd.conf
and for -d command line option to slapd.

Currently, each description offers different levels and different descriptions.
In particular, only the first mentions the keywords (as well as integers). None
mention the "None" level.

I propose the patch below that offers similar information in all three places,
an example clarifying the difference between loglevels "0" and "None" and
clarification of the cn=config default. Most text is simply copied from the man

On a side note, the man pages have levels "cache" and "index" (4096 and 8192)
commented out. The output from slapd -d? include them. Which should the admin
guide reflect?